ABBD reveals what Bayer’s accounting entries show

Bayer
“Although our internal audit function is very efficient, to err is human. It is therefore still useful to have an external firm’s view of our accounting.”Céline Lerissel, Tax Manager at Bayer

Specialising in life sciences, Bayer decided to conduct an audit of its accounts payable to confirm the reliability of their processes and the quality of their internal audit function. It was the fact ABBD’s service is based on using the FEC file that convinced Bayer to run an external audit. “We were interested in the idea of using the FEC data for quantitative and qualitative analyses. Instead of producing it solely as an accounting obligation, it is used as a tool to serve the company,” says Céline Lerissel, Tax manager at Bayer.

€142,000
recovered in supplier overpayments
€210,000
overlooked recoverable input VAT found

The recovery audit of Bayer’s accounts payable was conducted remotely. Anomalies identified were then confirmed by ABBD’s consultants by checking the supporting documentation for the entries in question, and the findings sent to the Bayer contacts for ratification. The interchange platform Exaus was particularly appreciated for carrying out these remote ratifications : “at first sight, it looks fairly complicated, but it is comprehensive. Every time, all the documentation needed to check and ratify the discrepancies found was there,” reports approvingly the Head of Transaction Processes for this accounting department, Patrick Gouinaud.

The results of the audit confirmed the robustness of the processes Bayer follows. In terms of overpayments, analysis showed they were mainly the result of very occasional human error, hence difficult to prevent. “You can implement as many checks as you like, but if there is an error when originally entering the invoice, you only detect it after the event,” confirms Patrick Gouinaud.

Read the full testimonial

Download (pdf)

Grâce à ABBD, Bayer fait parler les données de son FEC

Bayer
« Même si notre contrôle interne est très performant, l’erreur est humaine : c’est donc toujours utile d’avoir la vision d’un cabinet externe sur notre comptabilité »Céline Lerissel, Tax Manager chez Bayer

La société Bayer, spécialiste des métiers des sciences de la vie, a décidé de procéder à un audit ABBD pour confirmer le bon fonctionnement de leurs processus et la qualité de leurs contrôles internes. C’est notamment l’utilisation du Fichier des Écritures Comptables qui les a convaincu de l’intérêt de la mission. « Exploiter les données du FEC pour en tirer des analyses quantitatives et qualitatives nous a semblé intéressant. Au lieu de le produire seulement par obligation comptable, on l’utilise comme un outil au service de l’entreprise », précise Céline Lerissel, Tax manager chez Bayer.

142 000€
détectés en trop-payés fournisseurs
210 000€
de TVA déductible omise récupérée

L’audit de la comptabilité fournisseurs se déroule à distance. Les anomalies identifiées par les consultants ABBD sont soumises à validation aux interlocuteurs chez Bayer. La plateforme d’échanges Exaus Portail Client a été particulièrement appréciée pour procéder à ces validations à distance : « elle est relativement complexe à première vue, mais très complète : il y avait à chaque fois toute la documentation nécessaire pour vérifier et valider les anomalies » indique Patrick Gouinaud, Responsable des processus transactionnels du CSP.

Les résultats de l’audit ont confirmé le très bon fonctionnement des processus de Bayer. Les analyses ont montré que la majorité des trop-payés provenaient principalement d’erreurs humaines très ponctuelles, et donc difficilement évitables. « On peut mettre en place tous les contrôles possibles, s’il y a une erreur dans la saisie d’origine d’une facture, ce n’est qu’a posteriori qu’on peut la détecter  » confirme Patrick Gouinaud.

Lire le témoignage complet

Télécharger (pdf)